Men's Volleyball Finishes As NEAC Runner-Up

Men's Volleyball Finishes As NEAC Runner-Up

The Wells College men's volleyball team lost in four sets to Lancaster Bible College in the North Eastern Athletic Conference tournament championship match on Sunday, April 15 at the Horst Athletic Center in Lancaster, Pa. Set scores were 25-17, 28-26, 20-25, 25-20.

Lancaster Bible claimed the championship as the top seed following an undefeated regular-season record in the NEAC. The Chargers are 23-4 overall and earned automatic qualification to the NCAA Division III Men's Volleyball Championships.

The Chargers took the opening set 25-17. Wells held an early 6-4 lead but Lancaster Bible scored the next six points in a row, and used a 7-1 run later in the set to seize control. Wells had three set points in the closing stages, but LBC defended each of them and won the set on a pair of hitting errors by the Express.

The second set was close throughout and went to extra points. Lancaster Bible scored the first three points of the set, and that was the largest lead for either team in the entire set. The score was tied 20 times in the set.

Wells took the third set 25-20. The Express trailed 8-7 before taking the lead on a 7-1 run. Wells hit .348 in the set with 20 kills and four errors on 46 attempts.

The fourth set went to Lancaster Bible. Wells led 10-6 in the early going before LBC eventually took control and closed out the match.

Wells hit .128 in the match. Caden O'Loughlin had 15 kills and Robert Patzer had 11 kills. Josh Undari had 42 assists. O'Loughlin served three aces and had 10 digs. Patzer and Scott Litvin led Wells with 13 digs each, and Undari had 12 digs. O'Loughlin and Jonathan Haines each had one solo block and one block assist. Ryan Turner had three block assists.

Wells advanced to the championship match for the second year in a row, and concluded the 2018 season with a 21-8 overall record, which set program bests for total wins and winning percentage. The Express went 7-1 against NEAC opponents during the regular season and had four players earn all-conference honors.