Men's Lacrosse Toppled By Cazenovia, 17-7

Men's Lacrosse Toppled By Cazenovia, 17-7

CAZENOVIA, N.Y. – The Wells College men's lacrosse team wrapped up North Eastern Athletic Conference play on Saturday with a 17-7 loss to Cazenovia College. With the loss, Wells falls to 3-9 overall on the year while wrapping up their eighth season as a varsity program with a 1-8 league mark. Cazenovia improves to 8-5 and to 5-3 within conference play.

Freshman Tanner Mingen (Houston, Texas) and sophomore Alex Milliken (Hilton, N.Y.) each scored two goals for Wells while freshmen Nicholas Lewis-Antwi (Bronx, N.Y.), Scott Boyce (South Colton, N.Y.) and Noah Strackbein (Jessup, Pa.) each scored goals for the Express. Junior Connor Jansen (Horseheads, N.Y.) had three assists for Wells while Mingen rounded out the point scoring with one assist.

Cazenovia led 4-0 before a Milliken goal three minutes into the second quarter, placing Wells on the scoreboard. Strackbein added a first half goal for Wells, cutting the halftime score to 9-2. Wells opened the second half with back-to-back goals from Lewis-Antwi and Mingen to shrink the deficit to 9-4, but Cazenovia scored six of the game's next seven goals to increase their lead.

Defenseman Hayden Shuster (Careywood, Id.) had a team-best seven ground balls while sophomore Derrick Owens (Utica, N.Y.) chipped in with four caused turnovers and six ground balls. Sophomore Cody Roberson (Winston-Salem, N.C.) and freshman Aaron Heisey (Mechanicsburg, Pa.) each posted four ground balls for Wells.

In goal, sophomore Elijah Tracey (Utica, N.Y.) made eight saves before yielding to senior Tyler Bischoff (Allendale, N.J.) down the stretch. Bischoff made five saves on 13 shots. The tandem of Alex Delavan and Joe Harrison made 14 saves for Cazenovia in the contest.

Wells returns to action Sunday, Apr. 26 as they host non-conference Wheelock College in a 2 p.m. contest on Senior Day. Shuster, Bischoff, Tyler Fischetti (Weedsport, N.Y.) and Uriel Lloyd (Bronx, N.Y.) will be honored and recognized for their contributions to the program.