Wildcats Sprint Past Women's Lacrosse, 18-5

Wildcats Sprint Past Women's Lacrosse, 18-5

MARCY, N.Y. – Needing a victory to remain in contention for the North Eastern Athletic Conference postseason, the Wells College women's lacrosse team was defeated by the Wildcats from the SUNY Institute of Technology on Saturday. With the 18-5 win over the Express, SUNYIT snaps a five game losing streak to move one game over .500 at 6-5 (5-3 NEAC) while Wells drops to 3-9 overall and to 3-5 within league play.

Junior Marina Fargnoli (Apalachin, N.Y.) led the way with two goals for the Express while sophomore Andrea Gould (Fulton, N.Y.), freshman Jessica Burbank (Stamford, Conn.) and sophomore Bri'Anna Horne (Baltimore, Md.) rounded out the scoring for Wells.

Horne scored her team's lone first half goal as the hosts scored five goals to open play and concluded the stanza on a six goal run to build an 11-1 lead through the first 30 minutes. Burbank opened play for Wells in the second half with a goal, but SUNYIT scored the game's next seven goals to build up an 18-2 lead.

Gould scored a goal that was sandwiched between two Fargnoli strikes in the final 4:35 as Wells ended the tilt on a 3-0 goal scoring run. In total, Wells committed 28 turnovers and was unsuccessful on 14 total clears in the 60 minute game that was played under a running clock for the entire second half.

Wells goaltender Chelsea Dann (Flagstaff, Ariz.) was saddled with the loss as she allowed 11 goals on 15 total shots faced. Freshman Brooke Spanbauer (Niagara Falls, N.Y.) played the final 30 minutes for the Express, allowing seven goals on 10 total shots. Cassidy Thompson earned the victory for SUNYIT, allowing five goals while making as many saves.

Nicole DiPiazza scored seven goals for SUNYIT on the afternoon. Tierney McGlynn registered five caused turnovers and reeled in a team-best six ground balls. Additionally, McGlynn picked up six draw controls to lead players from both teams.

The Express face-off against the Mavericks of Medaille College on Sunday, Apr. 27, competing in a 1:00 p.m. road contest.