Defending NEAC Men's Swimming Champs Set To Begin Conference Meet

Defending NEAC Men's Swimming Champs Set To Begin Conference Meet

The Wells College men's swimming team will begin competition Friday at the 2017 North Eastern Athletic Conference Swimming & Diving Championships. Wells is the defending NEAC champion. The Express won the 2016 title, its third NEAC crown in program history, following previous titles in 2010 and 2013.

The Express will have five swimmers in the lineup that return as all-conference performers after helping the team to the title last year – Arthur Brooks, Lucas Donnenwirth, Austin Heil, Tyler Lewis, and Brandon Sprague.

Ian Ronan earned all-conference honors in the 2012 championship. He ranks in the top-10 in Wells history in the 100-yard and 200-yard individual medley and the 100-yard and 200-yard breaststroke.

Other Wells swimmers on the program's record board include Heil, Donnenwirth, Sprague, Brooks, and Lewis. Adam Sleezer will also be in competition for the Express.

The three-day meet will consist of preliminary heats beginning each day at 10 a.m. Event finals will take place beginning at 6 p.m. on Friday and Saturday, and 5 p.m. Sunday.

A video webstream of all six sessions is available from Cazenovia College.

Admission to the event is $3 per session, or $5 per day. Meet programs will be sold for $3 and heat sheets will be available for $1 each.


200-yard freestyle relay

500-yard freestyle

200-yard individual medley

50-yard freestyle

1-meter diving

400-yard medley relay


200-yard medley relay

400-yard individual medley

100-yard butterfly

200-yard freestyle

100-yard breaststroke

100-yard backstroke

800-yard freestyle relay


1,650-yard freestyle

100-yard individual medley

200-yard backstroke

100-yard freestyle

200-yard breaststroke

200-yard butterfly

400-yard freestyle relay